The closed smithy
Both Market Lavington and Easterton used to have blacksmiths. We have charming photos of Easterton Smithy (see also The Easterton Smithy). Market Lavington’s blacksmiths worked by Broadwell and at Gye’s Yard on White Street. All these smithies have now closed, but this blog isn’t about our local workplaces.
At the museum, we have this small poster from 1908. It was addressed to Farmers and Agriculturalists and listed all the foodstuffs imported in 1908 and was concerned that work previously done in this country was now being done abroad, causing local businesses to close. It was promoting the perceived need for tariff reform.